Watershed Organisation Trust
Home Partners

Watershed Organisation Trust

WOTR is a not-for-profit NGO founded in 1993. WOTR is working/has worked in  9 Indian states – Maharashtra, Telangana, Andhra Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh,  Rajasthan, Jharkhand, Odisha, Chhatisgarh and Bihar covering 52 districts, 198 blocks and 3683 villages impacting over 3.7  million people.

WOTR is recognised widely as a premier institution in the field of participatory Watershed Development and Climate Change Adaptation. Its unique strength lies in its on-field experience and in a systemic, participatory approach.

WOTR was initiated to support a large-scale multi-actor, multi-level, multi-sectoral, community led watershed development program for poverty reduction called the Indo-German Watershed Development Program (IGWDP). It was launched in Maharashtra, India by Fr. Hermann Bacher, co-founder and Chairman of WOTR, and Crispino Lobo, co-founder and Managing Trustee.

WOTR’s mandate is to reduce poverty through mobilising the self help capacities of individuals and communities to regenerate the eco-spaces or watersheds they live in, harvest rain water wherever it falls, use it productively, undertake sustainable livelihoods and do whatever else it takes to get them out of poverty.

Website Link
Sr.No State District Taluka
1 Andhra Pradesh Kurnool Atmakur
2 Chhatisgarh Korea Baikunthpur
3 Jharkhand Khunti Murhu
4 Madya Pradesh Anuppur Pushprajgarh
Madya Pradesh Chindwada Harrai
Madya Pradesh Chindwada Pandurna
Madya Pradesh Damoh Tendukheda
Madya Pradesh Dindori Sahpura
Madya Pradesh Mandla Naraynganj
Madya Pradesh Mandla Niwas
Madya Pradesh Seoni Kurai
5 Maharashtra Ahmednagar Ahmednagar
Maharashtra Ahmednagar Akole
Maharashtra Ahmednagar Karjat
Maharashtra Ahmednagar Parner
Maharashtra Ahmednagar Pathardi
Maharashtra Ahmednagar Rahuri
Maharashtra Ahmednagar Sangamner
Maharashtra Ahmednagar Shrigonda
Maharashtra Aurangabad Gangapur
Maharashtra Aurangabad Kannad
Maharashtra Aurangabad Khultabad
Maharashtra Aurangabad Paithan
Maharashtra Beed Ambejogai
Maharashtra Beed Asthi
Maharashtra Dhule Sakri
Maharashtra Jalna Ambad
Maharashtra Jalna Badnapur
Maharashtra Jalna Bhokardan
Maharashtra Jalna Jafrabad
Maharashtra Nashik Dindori
Maharashtra Osmanabad Bhum
Maharashtra Osmanabad Paranda
Maharashtra Raigad Khalapur
Maharashtra Satara Khandala
Maharashtra Thane Bhiwandi
6 Odisha Ganjam Chikiti
Odisha Ganjam Digapahandi
Odisha Raygada Gunupur
7 Rajasthan Karauli Mandrail
Rajasthan Karauli Sapotra
Rajasthan Udaipur Gogunda
8 Telangana Mahabubnagar Damargidda
Telangana Narayanpet Narayanpet
Telangana Rangareddy Manchal
Telangana Rangareddy Yachram
Telangana SangaReddy Munipalle