Integrated Farming Clusters
Home Programs

Integrated Farming Clusters

Responsible Coalition for Resilient Communities (RCRC), in partnership with the Ministry of Rural Development, is implementing the 214 Integrated Farming Cluster Project (IFC) across several states including Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, West Bengal, Assam, Odisha, Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Gujarat, and Maharashtra. This project involves collaboration with 30 Civil Society Organizations (CSOs) under RCRC, benefiting over 62,000 households.

Project Details

An IFC comprises 2 to 3 adjoining intervention villages, covering about 250-300 households. In these clusters, every Self-Help Group (SHG) household is supported with improvements in 3 to 4 livelihoods, both farm and non-farm.

Components of IFC:

  • Crop Production: This includes field crops, horticulture, and plantation.
  • Livestock: Dairy, piggery, goat rearing, poultry, duck, etc.
  • Apiculture: Beekeeping.
  • Non-Timber Forest Products (NTFP): Various livelihoods related to forest resources.

Principles of IFC:

  • Improving: Enhancing existing livelihood activities.
  • Intensifying: Making existing activities more productive.
  • Expanding: Exploring new opportunities.
  • Integrating: Coordinating different activities to optimize resource use and minimize waste.

These clusters promote sustainable livelihoods by integrating various agricultural activities, ensuring efficient resource utilization, and enhancing the well-being of rural communities.